Heart

128/365 -- Heart

Day 128 of 365 . . . prompt word: heart

Just over a year ago, I embarked on a quest I was convinced I would fail at.  More than a decade ago, I put on weight.  A lot of weight.  I tried to lose the extra pounds, but I don’t think I was mentally ready for such an undertaking.

But, just before Christmas 2011, my husband and I knew it was time to smarten up.  We had both put on weight and in order to lose it, we needed to do it together.  So at the end of December 2012 I weighed in for the final time that year.  I had successfully lost 35 pounds and kept it off.  Before that, I had lost another 20 pounds.  That’s 55 pounds I never thought would come off!  I still have a way to go before I hit my goal weight, but I know it will come off in time.

For me, 2013 will be about continuing to educate myself on how to be heart healthy.  I have come a long way in a year.  I have taken up running (which I LOVE).  I’m not the fastest, and I probably will never enter a race and win, but I’m still moving.  Which is more than I can say when I first started this journey.

For a long time I didn’t believe the weight would ever come off.  And it didn’t.  Because I truly had convinced myself I would be overweight until the day I die.  But then, I started to make little changes in my daily routine.  I added in a bit more activity every day.  I really focused on my unhealthy eating habits.  The weight just seemed to melt away.  When I passed one of my major milestones (getting my weight below 200 lbs) I knew I could do it.  I knew it would take time, but I knew I could be the healthy person I wanted to be.

I have more weight to go before I reach my goal weight, but I am more confident in myself today than I ever have been.  I can honestly say I am looking forward to this next year (I never say that!).  I am looking forward to seeing who I can become.

Have you made any resolutions for 2013?  How are you going to make them happen?

Leave a Reply

