Morning

Day 46 of 365 . . . prompt word: morning

Ten months ago, I embarked on a mission.  To finally lose weight.  I had gained so much weight over the years and at some point I think I gave up.  I had tried and tried to lose weight.  But I’d only lose about 10 lbs and then gain it back (with extra on top).  At some point I thought, “What’s the point?  It’s never going to come off.”

At my heaviest, I weighed 235 lbs (I’m just under 5’6″ in height).  A few years ago we got a dog.  He had so much energy we walked him two or three times a day.  After he had been with us for about six months, I stepped on the scale.  I had lost 15 pounds!  I kept going and lost another 10.

But life got in the way.

I gained about 15 back.  I figured I would never drop below the 200 lb mark.  I tried so many times and failed.

But last December (the 12th) I think I finally made up my mind to change.  My hubby and I started the South Beach Diet and upped my level of activity.  I started walking on the treadmill at first.  And the weight slowly melted away one pound at a time.  Before I knew it, I had dropped below the 200 lb mark.  I was in Onederland.

That’s when I knew I could run.

I started by slowly walking and then jogging little bits at a time.  I couldn’t wait until I could run more than a minute.  Then it was two.  Three.  Four.  Five . . . . Ten.  I heard about a great running app — Zombies, Run!  I downloaded it onto my iPhone and I was hooked.  I couldn’t wait to run again.

Now, they have come out with Zombies, Run! couch to 5K training program.

Today, I have lost a total of 35 lbs since December.  I am well under 200 lbs.  And I’m still looking at reaching my goal weight.  It doesn’t matter anymore how quickly it will come off.  The point is, I have proven I can do it.

No more excuses.  Because that’s all they are.  Excuses.  Anyone can lose weight.  Anyone.  You just need to want to let it go.

What are your dreams?

5 thoughts on “Morning

    • LOL! Unfortunately winter is coming which means icy roads. So I will be doing my runs indoors on my treadmill. But I will be itching to get back out in the spring.

      However, now that I think about it, I may need to train for all types of weather and road conditions! Oh, heck! If there is a zombie invasion, I’ll run down to the southern states where it is warmer 😀

  1. Pingback: Heart | Capture Your 365

Leave a Reply

