Caramel Apples

 

Day 36 of 365 . . . prompt word: caramel apples

To answer your question, yes, they were sticky and delicious!

I remember when I was younger, my mom used to make caramel apples at the cabin for my sister and I for a treat.  They were always sticky and delicious.  It is such a yummy memory.

So last night we were at the grocery store and I asked the man in the Produce Dept if they had caramel wraps for apples.  He didn’t think they did.  I was disappointed until my brilliant daughter pointed them out hanging on pegs next to the apple bin.  I looked at the man with pity that he had been unable to answer such a simple question.  I looked at the package.  If I am not mistaken, they look pretty close to the wraps my mom used to use.

Tonight, before dinner, we wrapped the apples and popped them in the oven at 200 degrees for 5 minutes.  The heat is just enough to soften the caramel to a creamy consistency.  We quickly ate dinner knowing the treat that awaited us for dessert.

All the sweet caramel sticking to my teeth was worth it.  One bite and I flashed back to sitting in the sun with my sister as we nibbled away at our delicious fruity goodness.

I didn’t want the memory to fade.

Which do you prefer?  Candied apples or caramel?

2 thoughts on “Caramel Apples

Leave a Reply

