Letters

 

 

Day 32 of 365 . . . prompt word: letters

Letters are something we receive almost on a daily basis.  These days it is mostly through e-mail.

But sometimes, something really beautiful comes through the post office.

I’m not the best person to keep up on correspondence.  In the evening, after a long day of answering phones at work, the last thing I want to do is pick up the phone and call someone.  Once dinner is made, dishes are cleaned and a few chores are done for the evening, I don’t feel like picking up a pen and piece of paper to write a letter.  I’m on the computer all day and, believe it or not, I rarely check my email because there is so much junk mail that oozes through, it takes awhile to delete all but the necessary posts.  Hopefully my family and friends know this about me and understand.  It’s not that I don’t think of them.  In fact, I think of them daily.  It’s not that I don’t care.  Absence makes the heart grow fonder — I cherish them even more.

I have lost the art of letter writing.

My dad hasn’t.  Every now and then I get a handwritten letter in the mail.  I love that he takes time out of his day to pen a message to me.  It is personal and I love receiving those envelopes.  Because most people these days are really too busy to fit things like that into their day.

Maybe these are excuses.  I know they are.  It is impersonal.  Yep.  I just need to carve out time in my day to do these things.  You’re right about that too.  You have become selfish with your personal time.  Absolutely.

But life is a process.  A series of ups and downs.  Things ebb and flow.

I need to learn time management . . . .

I have friends who accomplish more in one hour than I do in a month!  If you are one of those people, how do you do this???

 

Leave a Reply

