Metallic

20120921-190608.jpg

Day 21 of 365 . . . prompt word: metallic

In high school, I played the clarinet. Although I wasn’t the best musician, band left a huge impact on my life. My teacher gave an assignment I vividly remember. We were to go to the library and listen to a piece of music (classical) on a record (vinyl) several times. Each time we listened, we were to identify several different instruments. I’m sure, at the time, I thought it was a ridiculous project. But, years later, I realize what a valuable exercise in listening it truly was.

It taught me to listen to the subtleties of a musical piece. When I listen to the radio, I do not often hear the lyrics first. I always pay attention to the music. I also listen to the voice as an instrument.

Music is powerful. Music is emotive. I recently have learned to appreciate opera music. My favourite opera singer is a beautiful Canadian soprano, Misha Brueggergosman. I doesn’t matter that I do not understand the language she is singing. I listen to the voice first. She has a powerful instrument!

One of my favourite things I’ve heard her sing is Joni Mitchell’s song, “Both Sides Now“. I actually find myself holding my breath as I listen to her. When her voice climbs the scale toward the end, the power in her voice brings tears to my eyes . . . every time.

So thank you, Mr. Wayne Toews — you are amazing and have left an impression on my heart!

Were you a band geek? What instrument did you play?

2 thoughts on “Metallic

Leave a Reply

