Ears

20120918-214853.jpg

Day 18 of 365 . . . prompt word: ears

This is going to be a quick post — busy work day and a supper meeting to follow which didn’t end until 9 p.m. Then I had to practice music (I’m playing organ for a funeral at church tomorrow) and meet with the soloist. It’s almost 10 p.m. Way past my bedtime!

Today’s word is ‘ears’ and I immediately thought of our dog, Sam. He has the most velvety ears I’ve ever had the pleasure of petting. They are my second favourite thing about Sam. The first is his ‘kissing spot’ on his forehead. He has a white spot right in the middle of his forehead that just begs for a kiss.

I love watching him when he sits outside. His ears are constantly twitching back and forth listening to every little sound out there. From barking dogs and howling coyotes to children playing and laughing.

His ears convey so much emotion. When he is happy and content, they sit flopped forward (like in the image above). When he is listening, the floppy ears twitch back and forth. When he knows he’s in trouble, the ears drop back flat on his head and he gives me the ‘sad eyes’ which tell me he understands he stepped over the line. How can you not stop and stroke his ears, kiss his kissing spot, and tell him he is a good bubby?

He’s a great friend. He listens to me when I’ve had a good day and he sits beside me when I’m sad. He’s never shared a secret I’ve told him. He greets me at the door when I come home from work. He loves me unconditionally.

Do you have a furry member of the family?

2 thoughts on “Ears

Leave a Reply

