Contrast

Day 7 of 365 . . . prompt word: contrast

I struggled all day wondering what sort of image I could make that would portray ‘contrast’.  I looked up the definition.  I Googled images with the keyword ‘contrast’.  I looked up #contrast on Instagram so see what ideas others had come up with to represent that image.

Yesterday on Facebook I noticed someone had posted a picture of the Dalai Lama which had a quote written on it.  I am not Buddhist.  I am a Christian.  And as of late, I notice when other Christians speak up and defend their faith on a variety of issues, they are labeled as intolerant…ignorant…homophobic….  I am tired of seeing fellow Christians verbally attacked because they decide to express their faith.  Every other world religion seems to be able to say whatever they want and everyone seems to coo with delight over these oh-so-profound quotes.

I am tired of not having a voice.

So, yesterday, I decided to exercise my right to speak up and defend my faith.  And this morning I read a comment left on that link that totally supported my argument.  All I wanted to do was post how I felt about a phrase said by the Dalai Lama.  And I was told by someone on that link that, basically, I need to shut up and keep my opinions to myself.  He was personally offended by what I had to say about my faith.  No regard to the fact that I was offended by the statement made by the highly esteemed leader of the Buddhist religion.  Because, apparently I am not allowed to express my faith publicly — because it is offensive to the hearers.

It has left me feeling a little bit sad and deflated.

But then a very special friend, whom I miss dearly, wrote something on that link:

It is always hard to talk to non-Christians about what we believe and why.  It brought to mind the following scripture passage. 1 Corinthians 1:18 — ‘For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.’

Thank you Julie J for reminding me that it is okay to sound foolish.  My belief is in total contrast to what the world believes.  But it is a saving faith.  And it shouldn’t surprise me that the world will hate me because of it because they hated my Saviour, Jesus Christ.  They hated Him so much they scourged Him then mocked Him as He hung on the cross for the whole world.  The one true sacrifice who died once for all and rose again.

Christ preached a message of repentance and forgiveness.  I find it ironic that when I repented and asked this fellow to forgive me for offending him, it was met with silence.

I truly learned the meaning of contrast today as I struggled with the comments thrown at me.  My beliefs are in total contrast to the world around me.  That’s okay.  Because I do not belong to this world.

I belong to Christ.

Have you ever been persecuted for expressing your faith?  How did you get through it?

2 thoughts on “Contrast

Leave a Reply

