Back to School

Day 6 of 365 . . . prompt word: back to school

How would you like your kids to travel to school in this bad boy?

I must admit, I love autumn.  To me it is the best time of the year.  I love the cooler days.  You know the ones.  The sun is shining and the air is crisp.  It’s time to dig out hand-knit woolen scarves, slouchy hats and hand-warmers.  Tights with pleated skirts and sweaters.  A time when we hear crunchy leaves and see rosy cheeks.  The smells of apples in season being baked into pies.

Autumn is the time of year many of us buy back-to-school supplies for ourselves or our children.  A time of labeling everything and packing it into new backpacks.  We meet new teachers and new friends.  Everyone thinks spring is a time of renewal, but I think it truly happens now . . . in the fall.

Our schedules are back into full-swing and life becomes comfortably predictable again.  I love predictability.  To me, it is like wrapping a warm fleecy blanket around myself as I chat with a dear old friend who knows me inside and out.  A friend who has seen me at the best of times and at my absolute lowest point.  A friend who can tell me, “It’s going to be alright.”

Autumn — it’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Leave a Reply

