Look Up

Day 1 of 365 . . . prompt word: look up

This morning I was outside taking pictures.  I was looking up tree trunks (because I had a plan in mind to go with a perfectly planned blog post), but no matter where I positioned myself, the sky was completely washed out. I thought to myself, “Why can’t I just capture the fluffiness of those clouds over there that are bathed in the morning sun?” And then it hit me . . . I had decided to “look up” in the wrong place.  I turned and began to capture a few images.  Some I liked.  Some hit the trash can.  As I was standing on the edge of my lawn in my blue and green striped pyjamas and pink slippers, I happened to glance to my left.  There was my next-door neighbour, Mr. M. (a retired farmer who grew up in Austria).  He was looking up at the sky in the direction I was pointing my camera phone.

“What are you looking at?”

I grinned like an idiot.  “Clouds!”

He looked at me like I should be committed.  He shrugged his shoulders and walked away.  When I captured the image I wanted, I practically skipped back into the house.  I felt all tingly inside!    Because I knew I had just started something amazing.  I had started reconnecting with the art forms I love so much. I would be writing again.  I would be capturing images with my camera again.

But most importantly, I would be falling in love with me again.

2 thoughts on “Look Up

Leave a Reply

